

MINUTES

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission (SHRC) Meeting of January 17, 2018

Meeting noticed on January 12, 2018

ROLL CALL

The Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Creswell.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan, Painter Simas, Staajabu
MEMBERS ABSENT: (two vacancies)
STAFF PRESENT: La Shelle Dozier, David Levin, James Shields, Vickie Smith, Lira Goff, LaTanna Jones, Angela Jones, Sarah Thomas, Mark Hamilton, Russ Robertson, Karen Wallace, Sarah Thomas, Tyrone Williams, Mike Snyder

<u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA</u> – approved as submitted.

CITIZENS COMMENTS

Olga Cid and Patty Uplinger provided comment.

<u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> – December 6, 2017 minutes were approved unanimously.

PRESENTATIONS

1. <u>Promise Zone Update</u>

Tyrone Williams presented the item.

2. <u>New SHRA Website Overview</u>

Michael Snyder presented the item. Commissioners Macedo, Alcalay and Staajabu offered suggestions for changes.

BUSINESS ITEMS

3. <u>Election of SHRA Commission Chair for 2018</u>

Commissioner Griffin nominated Tawny Macedo to serve as Chair. Commissioner Alcalay seconded the motion. Commissioner Johnson nominated Gale Morgan to serve as Chair.

General Counsel David Levin advised the group of the procedure for the nomination. As a result, Commissioner Morgan motioned to vacate the previous motions; Commissioner Griffin seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

Chair Creswell declared that nominations for Chair of the SHRA Commission were open. Commissioner Griffin nominated Tawny Macedo to serve as Chair. Commissioner Johnson nominated Gale Morgan. Commissioner Griffin moved to close nominations without objection. The votes were as follows: Tawny Macedo – 7 votes, Gale Morgan – 2 votes. Commissioner Macedo was declared to be the Chair for 2018.

4. Election of SHRA Commission Vice-Chair for 2018

I

Chair Creswell declared that nominations for Vice-Chair of the SHRA Commission were open. Commissioner Alcalay nominated Matt Johnson to serve as Vice-Chair. Commissioner Painter nominated Gale Morgan. Commissioner Alcalay moved to close nominations without objection. The votes were as follows: Matt Johnson Macedo – 6 votes, Gale Morgan – 3 votes. Commissioner Johnson was declared to be the Vice-Chair for 2018.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

La Shelle Dozier reviewed the following:

- Next Meeting is on February 21st.
- Two new Commissioners to join the board in February. They are Tyffanie Wedding and Samuel Stark.
- Status of Housing Choice Voucher program waitlist opening.
- Status of TCC grant application.

COMMISSION CHAIR REPORT

Chair Creswell thanked the group for allowing her to serve as Chair.

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING REPORT

Chair Creswell reviewed items that were discussed at the Executive Committee which included: establishing regular monthly meetings, reviewing upcoming items, reviewing by-laws, receding updates on major initiatives, finding ways to have more engagement in initiatives, and the review of ongoing commissioner training and orientation.

ITEMS AND QUESTIONS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS

Commissioner Simas thanked Chair Creswell for her service.

Commissioner Alcalay suggested that the Executive Committee develop a procedure for elections.

ADJOURNMENT

As there was no further business to be conducted, Chair Creswell adjourned the meeting at 7:30 pm.

Clerk