

MINUTES

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission (SHRC) Meeting March 2, 2016

Meeting noticed on February 26, 2016

ROLL CALL

The Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Chair Creswell. A quorum of members was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Morgan, Raab, Rios,

Simas

MEMBERS ABSENT: Macedo, Painter, Staajabu

STAFF PRESENT: La Shelle Dozier, David Levin, Vickie Smith, Tyrone R.

Williams, MaryLiz Paulson, Sarah Thomas, Christine Weichert, Lira Goff, Jim Shields, Anne Nicholls, Terren

Wing, Karen Wallace

APPROVAL OF AGENDA – agenda approved as submitted

<u>CITIZENS COMMENTS</u> – MaryLiz Paulson and Karen Wallace introduced resident trainee program participants Ashley Hammock and Latriece Baker.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> – February 3, 2016 meeting minutes were approved as amended.

BUSINESS ITEMS

2. <u>Lavender Courtyard by Mutual Housing - Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act</u> (TEFRA) Hearing, and Approval of Funding Commitment and Tax Exempt Bonds

Chair Creswell and Vice-Chair Raab recused themselves for this item and left the room. Commissioner Morgan nominated Mel Griffin to chair this item. Commissioner Alcalay seconded the motion which was approved unanimously.

Anne Nicholls presented the item.

The following speakers provided testimony in support of the item: Julia Mullen, George Raya from the Marshall School/New Era Park Neighborhood Association, Tim Kamermayer from the Stonewall Democratic club, Donald Bentz from the

Sacramento LGBT Community Center, Loretta Hoyte, Lue Yang, Fernando Cibrian, Patti Uplinger from Housing Now, Veronica Beaty from the Sacramento Housing Alliance, Chris Webster from CARES, Kathleen Kirke-Young, Charles Pierson, Paula Lee from the League of Women Voters, Rick Bettis from the League of Women Voters, Sally Smith from ACT, Katie Donohue from Advanced Hospice.

The following speakers provided testimony in opposition to the item: Martha Damjanovic, Priscilla Barnes, Paul Tsamtisis, Ken Lauszus, Roland Brady, Jim Walker, Mike Young.

On a motion by Commissioner Alcalay, seconded by Commissioner Morgan the Commission recommended approval of the staff recommendation for the items listed above. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Griffin, Johnson, Morgan, Rios, Simas

NOES: none

ABSTAIN: Creswell, Raab

ABSENT: Macedo, Painter, Staajabu

3. <u>Pensione K - Tax Equity and Fiscal Responsibility Act (TEFRA) Hearing, and Approval of Loan Commitment and Tax Exempt Bonds</u>

Terren Wing presented the item.

Chair Creswell led a discussion regarding the transfer of the Redevelopment Agency owned land to the Developer. Among other concerns, questions were raised about the potential to achieve a longer affordability term in exchange for the transfer of land. She requested a report back regarding this item.

On a motion by Commissioner Alcalay, seconded by Commissioner Rios the Commission recommended approval of the four resolutions dealing with the financing of the project. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Raab, Rios

NOES: Johnson, Morgan, Simas

ABSTAIN: none

ABSENT: Macedo, Painter, Staajabu

On a motion by Commissioner Morgan, seconded by Commissioner Alcalay the Commission recommended approval of the two resolutions dealing with the transfer of land related to the project. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Griffin, Johnson, Morgan, Simas

NOES: Alcalay, Creswell, Raab, Rios

ABSTAIN: none

ABSENT: Macedo, Painter, Staajabu

INFORMATIONAL PRESENTATIONS

4. Approval of Housing Authority Participation in the Renewal and Expansion of the Oak Park Property and Business Improvement District

MaryLiz Paulson presented the item.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

The Executive Director reviewed the following:

- 1) The next meeting will be March 16 2016
- 2) Hold the date for the April 13th Del Paso Nuevo grand opening.
- 3) Staff attended the opening of the Viva supermarket store on Marysville Blvd in the Promise Zone.

COMMISSION CHAIR REPORT

None

ITEMS AND QUESTIONS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS

None

ADJOURNMENT

As there was no further business to be conducted, Chair Creswell adjourned the meeting at 8:00 p.m.

Clerk	