

MINUTES

Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission (SHRC) Meeting of January 18, 2017

Meeting noticed on January 13, 2017

ROLL CALL

The Sacramento Housing and Redevelopment Commission meeting was called to order at 6:00 p.m. by Vice-Chair Raab. A quorum of members was present.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan, Raab,

Simas, Staajabu

MEMBERS ABSENT: Painter, Rios

STAFF PRESENT: La Shelle Dozier, Tyrone Williams, David Levin, Vickie

Smith, Christine Weichert, Susan Veazey, Terren Wing, MaryLiz Paulson, Angela Jones, Sarah Thomas, Karen Wallace, Joanna Davis, Mark Hamilton, Jim Shields

<u>APPROVAL OF AGENDA</u> – The Chair announced that item # 8 would be heard immediately after the consent items and that items 5 and 6 would be presented and approved together.

CITIZENS COMMENTS

Jeffery Tardaguila provided comment.

Commissioner Griffin presented a certificate of appreciation to Dan Maloney of the SHRA Real Estate and Construction Division for his work on the Rio Linda Community Center.

Commissioner Alcalay presented Commissioner Griffin with a gift to honor him on his birthday.

1. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u> – December 7th, 2016 special meeting – The minutes for the meeting were approved unanimously as submitted.

CONSENT

- 2. Adoption of Updated CalHome Program Guidelines City report
- 3. Adoption of Updated CalHome Program Guidelines County report

On a motion by Commissioner Griffin, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, the Commission recommended approval of the staff recommendation for the items listed above. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan, Raab,

Simas, Staajabu

NOES: None

ABSENT: Painter, Rios

ABSTAIN: None

DISCUSSION ITEMS/STAFF REPORTS

4. <u>Crossroad Gardens Project: Declaration Of Intention To Reimburse Expenditures</u> <u>From The Proceeds Of Tax-Exempt Obligations And Directing Certain Actions</u>

Terren Wing presented the item.

Chair Creswell requested that the remaining balance in various housing fund accounts be included in future reports.

On a motion by Commissioner Griffin, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, the Commission recommended approval of the staff recommendation for the items listed above. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan,

Simas, Staajabu

NOES: None

ABSENT: Painter, Rios

ABSTAIN: Raab

5. <u>Authorization to Competitively Procure and Contract for Property Management</u> Services for Phoenix Park III

6. <u>Authorization To Competitively Procure And Contract For Property Management Services For Norcade Circle Properties</u>

MaryLiz Paulson presented the items.

On a motion by Commissioner Griffin, seconded by Commissioner Morgan, the Commission recommended approval of the staff recommendation for the items listed above. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan, Raab,

Simas, Staajabu

NOES: None

ABSENT: Painter, Rios

ABSTAIN: None

7. Authorization to Competitively Procure and Contract for Routine Services

MaryLiz Paulson presented the item.

On a motion by Commissioner Johnson, seconded by Commissioner Griffin Commission recommended approval of the staff recommendation for the item listed above. The votes were as follows:

AYES: Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Johnson, Macedo, Morgan, Raab,

Simas, Staajabu

NOES: None

ABSENT: Painter, Rios

ABSTAIN: None

PRESENTATIONS

8. Policy on use of Housing Trust Funds

Susan Veazey presented the item.

Commissioner Alcalay requested a written overview of the information provided.

9. Update on City/County Homeless Initiative meeting scheduled for January 31st

La Shelle Dozier presented the item and distributed a handout related to homeless activities in the county assisted by SHRA.

Jeffery Tardaguila provided comments.

10. Housing Authority Vacant unit turn around report

MaryLiz Paulson presented the item.

Commissioner Alcalay requested a written report on this item.

BUSINESS ITEMS

11. Election of SHRA Commission Chair for 2017

Commissioner Alcalay nominated Cathy Creswell to serve as Chair for 2017. Commissioner Staajabu nominated Gale Morgan to serve as Chair for 2017.

Commissioner Creswell was elected by the following vote:

Votes for Commissioner Creswell – Alcalay, Creswell, Raab, Simas, Macedo, Johnson

Votes for Commissioner Morgan – Griffin, Morgan, Staajabu,

12. Election of SHRA Commission Vice-Chair for 2017

Commissioner Johnson nominated Commissioner Morgan to serve as Vice-Chair for 2017.

Commissioner Alcalay nominated Commissioner Raab to serve as Vice-Chair for 2017.

Commissioner Raab was elected by the following vote:

Votes for Commissioner Raab – Alcalay, Creswell, Griffin, Macedo, Raab, Simas Votes for Commissioner Morgan – Morgan, Johnson, Staajabu

ITEMS AND QUESTIONS OF COMMISSION MEMBERS

Commissioner Griffin thanked Dan Maloney for his service to the Rio Linda community.

Commissioner Alcalay reminded members about the MLK event and thanked Commissioner Morgan for the RAB newsletter.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR REPORT

La Shelle Dozier reviewed the following:

- 1. Thanked commission members or donations to Fund Inc at holiday party totaling \$225.
- 2. The next meeting will be held February 1st.

COMMISSION CHAIR REPORT

Chair Creswell thanked the group for their support during 2017.

Chair Creswell requested a workshop on the structure of SHRA after the January 31st homeless meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

As there was	no further	business t	o be co	nducted,	Chair (Creswell	adjourned	at 8:00
pm.								

Clerk	